Successful Teen Pregnancy Prevention: Connecting Clinical Care and Community Interventions

Date & Time:

2:00pm to 3:15pm (Central)
1:00pm to 2:15pm (Mountain)
12:00pm to 1:15pm (Pacific)
04/22/2014 3:00pm to 4:15pm (EST)

Description: 

Research demonstrates that clinical and educational contraceptive services as well as behavioral interventions are needed to reduce the rate of teen pregnancy. In this webinar, Title X-funded family planning providers shared lessons learned about how to provide high quality clinical services to teens. Providers also described ways that clinical providers and community-based organizations that provide behavioral interventions can work together to reach and effectively serve teens in their communities.

Who Should Attend:

This webinar was designed for administrators, program staff, health educators and outreach workers of health programs and community-based organizations serving teens, as well as anyone interested in learning more about teen pregnancy prevention efforts.

Click here to view the recorded webinar.

Presenters:

Wanda Denise Barfield, MD, MPH
Director
Division of Reproductive Health
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA

Danielle G. Dooley MD, MPhil, FAAP
Pediatrician
Unity Health Care, Inc.
Washington, D.C.

Deborah Kaplan, DrPH, MPH, R-PA
Assistant Commissioner
Bureau of Maternal, Infant and Reproductive Health
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
New York, NY

Evelyn M. Kappeler
Director
Office of Adolescent Health
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Rockville, MD

Susan B. Moskosky, MS, WHNP-BC
Acting Director
Office of Population Affairs
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Rockville, MD

Dionna Walters, MPH, MPA
Project Director
Bronx Teens Connection
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
New York, NY

Registration & Fees:

You can view a recording of this webinar is offered free of charge.

Click here to view the recorded webinar.

Continuing Education (CE):

Continuing Education credit was not available for this webinar.

Acknowledgements:

Funding was provided by the Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Population Affairs, Office of Family Planning, grant # FPTPA006024-02.

Cardea is the Title X Family Planning National Training Center for Service Delivery, funded through the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Population Affairs.

Disclaimer:

Contents of this event do not necessarily represent the official views of the Department of Health and Human Services. Printed materials are reviewed for medical accuracy and are consistent with nationally recognized standards of care and Title X program requirements.

Questions?:

Contact the Family Planning National Training Center for Service Delivery - Seattle office at 206.447.9538 or seattle@cardeaservices.org.

Document: 

Type: 

Webinar